This feature is controlled by agency accounts

The Shared Book feature makes it easy for agents in your agency to access each other's clients and leads.

This can be useful if your agency has a call center model, or has captive agents, or just wants to let agents occasionally help each other's clients.

Summary

  • Select which agents you'd like to add to Shared Book

  • Those agents will see each other's clients and leads in their dashboard.

  • To avoid unwanted Agent of Record changes, they'll have the ability to keep the last NPN used on the application.

Selecting agents for Shared Book

As an Agency Admin, you can select which agents you want in your Shared Book. For example, you may want to add only your call center agents, or you may want to add your entire downline. To select Shared Book agents, just go to the Agency page and check the boxes under the "Shared Book" column.

  • You can select any agent in your direct downline (not sub-agencies) who have enabled EDE.

  • You'll probably want to select your own account too.

  • Any agents selected will have access to each other's clients and leads.

  • Any agents who are not selected will have the regular account experience, seeing only their own clients and leads.

Shared Book capabilities

Agents who you add to Shared Book will get these updated capabilities:

Access to the clients & leads of every other Shared Book agent

Agents added to Shared Book will see not only their own clients and leads, but the clients and leads of all other agents who've been added to Shared Book. They can work these clients and leads exactly as if they were their own – change plans, edit the application, upload payment or documents, etc.

They will also have a filter to see only their own clients:

Note: the first time you try to view an application for a client that isn't your own, you'll be asked to attest to having that client's permission.

Note: when we refer to an agent's "own" client, that refers to those applications originally created by the agent. By "originally created" the application, we mean: brought that copy of that application into the HealthSherpa system (either by writing it new or by claiming it from the Marketplace). On each Client Profile page, you'll be able to see who this Original Agent is. Note that the Original Agent is not the same as the "Agent of Record. Agent of Record just notes which NPN is on the application

Edit applications without updating the NPN

Agents who are helping another agent's client may want to submit updated applications without changing the NPN. For Shared Book agents, if the NPN on the application is from another agent in their agency, they'll be able to keep that NPN.


For example, let's say Jose and Maria are agents in the same agency, both using Shared Book. Maria submits a new application for her new client David, with her NPN. Later, David calls in to make an income change, and Jose answers. As Jose is submitting the application with updated income, he'll have the option to keep Maria's NPN on the application, like this:

Note: if you've added any NPN Overrides, you'll also see those NPNs in this list.

Make Shared Notes

At the bottom of every Client Profile or Lead Profile, there's a section where you can add notes. When you're in a Shared Book, with various agents working the same clients, this can be a great way to record what each agent has done for the client.

FAQ

What happens when an agent is removed from the Shared Book?

If you decide to remove an agent from your Shared Book, their account will go back to being a regular account where they only see their own clients and leads. They'll also get an email notification on their dashboard letting them know that's happened.

Will the Agency Admin be a part of the Shared Book?

As the Agency Admin, you can join the Shared Book just by selecting yourself on the Shared Book list.

How do Referrals work in a Shared Book?

Referrals work in the same way – if the agent submitting an application for a carrier they've set to refer, they'll get credited for the referral.


How does my agent know that I've added or removed them from Shared Book?

When you add or remove an agent from Shared Book, we'll send them an email notification to alert them.

How do Exports work with Shared Book?

Agents will only be able to export their own clients, not the entire Shared Book.

The Agency Admin(s) always have the ability to export across the entire agency, from their Agency tab.

If the Agency Admin has removed the ability for downline agents to export, that will still apply in a Shared Book scenario.

Can and agent be in Shared Book and Full Book at the same time?

No, they'll have to be in one or the other.

Did this answer your question?